Crochet Flower Lanyard: Free Pattern

Today is a very special day for me. Today I will post my very first crochet pattern — a pattern I made all by myself!

I wanted a new lanyard for my phone because what I had at the time was old and boring. I wanted to crochet one instead of getting a new one so that it would be unique. However, when I searched the Internet for a nice pattern, all I could find were patterns that either only used single crochet (which I think is boring) or were too complicated for my taste. So I decided to challenge myself by making my own pattern.

So, without further ado, here is my first ever official pattern:

Crochet Flower Lanyard

MATERIALS:

  • 4-ply yarn (I used less than one 18-gram skein of Monaco Acrylic yarn.)
  • A 3.75 mm hook
  • Metal clip (the ones used in lanyards)
  • Yarn needle

LANYARD:

Crochet a chain about 33 inches long (or however long you want the lanyard to be.)

  1. Single crochet (sc) in second chain from hook and in the rest of the stitches until you reach the end of the row. Chain 1 and turn the work.
  2. Slip stitch (ss) in second stitch from hook and in the rest of the stitches until you reach the end of the row. Chain 1 and turn the work.
  3. Sc in second stitch from hook and in the rest of the stitches until you reach the end of the row. Finish off, leaving a long tail for sewing.

FLOWER:

Work in joined rounds. What I usually do is at the end of the round I join to the first stitch of the same round with a slip stitch. Chain 1, and then do as the pattern says.*

*For round 3, do not chain 1 before doing the chain 3.

  1. Magic ring, sc 6. (6 stitches)
  2. 2 sc in each stitch. (12 stitches)
  3. (Chain 3, do 3 triple crochets in next stitch, chain 3, join with a slip stitch to next stitch.) x 6. (This will create six lovely petals.) Do not join to the first chain 3. Finish off, leaving a long tail for sewing.

Crochet Flower

Sew the ends of the lanyard together first, with the metal clip in between. Then sew the flower on top of the spot where you sewed the lanyard together to hide any messy sewing. We’re done!

Crochet Flower (back view)

Crochet Flower Lanyard 2

The row of slip stitches creates a raised bit in the middle of the lanyard.

Crochet Flower Lanyard 1

The finished lanyard — yay!

Here is the same pattern in Microsoft Word form:

Crochet Flower Lanyard Free Pattern

Leave a Reply

